Nitya Yoga (panchanga)

Nitya means daily.  These are daily yogas formed by the angular relationship between the Sun & Moon. Since the Moon travels on average 13°20’ a day, these Yogas are based on that angle of separation between the Sun and Moon. These take a bit longer than a Nakshatra where only … Continue reading →

Karana – Half Lunar Day

There are 60 Karanas in a lunation cycle that represents a 6° separation between the Sun and Moon – half the longitudinal length of the 30 Tithis. They too will vary in the length of time due to the varying speed of the Moon. Karana means instrument. They give us … Continue reading →

Tithi – Lunar Day

The Tithis are the 30 divisions of the synodic cycle1 between the Sun and Moon, or put another way, the 30 lunar days between one New Moon and the next. The actual length of the Solar-Lunar synodic cycle is about 29.5 days. Therefore, we would think each Tithi is slightly … Continue reading →

Nakshatra (Panchanga)

The Nakshatras are the 13°20’ asterisms that divide the zodiac into twenty-seven segments, often called the Lunar Mansions. The Panchanga will list the Nakshatra that the Moon is in at the start of the day and give the time it enters the next Nakshatra. We must pay attention to the … Continue reading →

Vara – Solar Day

The Vara in general is the solar principal of the day representing the vital energy of the day. Remember the day begins at sunrise. Each planet rules one weekday. Sun rules Sunday. Moon rules Monday. Mars rules Tuesday. Mercury rules Wednesday. Jupiter rules Thursday. Venus rules Friday. Saturn rules Saturday. … Continue reading →

Basic Principles of Panchanga

The Panchanga is the Indian almanac that is used to determine the quality of the energy for the day. It is composed of five (panch) limbs (anga) that represent five sources of energy and deals primarily with Sun, Moon, and their relationship to each other. When working with the Panchanga … Continue reading →