Nakshatra (Panchanga)

The Nakshatras are the 13°20’ asterisms that divide the zodiac into twenty-seven segments, often called the Lunar Mansions. The Panchanga will list the Nakshatra that the Moon is in at the start of the day and give the time it enters the next Nakshatra. We must pay attention to the time frame of the particular day when the Moon is transiting through a Nakshatra because it can change mid-day.

It is imperative that you use the sidereal zodiac when working with Nakshatras. The Nakshatras are based on the movement of the Moon against the stars (sidereal zodiac – lunar zodiac) not the movement of the Sun through the seasons (tropical zodiac – solar zodiac).

The Nakshatra is most important factor in Muhurta. The qualities of the Nakshatras determine what they are favorable or unfavorable for. Several Nakshatras will be favorable for one specific action. However not all of them will be in a favorable Tara Bala for the individual for whom you are electing an auspicious day. Thus, the possible choices of auspicious Nakshatras for the Muhurta become narrowed down on an individual basis. Of the Nakshatras that remain – being auspicious for the event and having good Tara Bala – you choose the one that has the best Tithi, Vara, Karana & Yoga. The Nakshatra is the first limb of the Panchanga to consult for auspicious timing.

The Qualities of the Nakshatras & Their Favorable Actions

 Light Nakshatras: Ashwini, Pushya, Hasta

The quality of the light Nakshatras is one of growth, development and movement. They are favorable for all new ventures, travel, physical activity, taking medicine, healing therapies, gaining knowledge, and wearing new clothes or gems for the first time.

Soft Nakshatras: Mrigashira, Chitra, Anuradha, Revati

The quality of soft Nakshatras is gentle, sensitive, and pliable. They are favorable for things related to the emotions, healing, artistic ventures, domestic issues, sexual relations, and personal issues.

Fixed Nakshatras: Rohini, Uttara Phalguni, Uttara Shada, Uttara Bhadrapada

The fixed quality of Nakshatras lends these to being favorable for establishing undertakings that are lasting in nature. Building houses, planting trees, getting married, conceiving children, and most major actions are favorable under the fixed Nakshatras.

Mutable Nakshatras: Punarvasu, Swati, Shravana, Dhanistha, Shatabishak

The quality of mutable Nakshatras is one of change and movement. They are favorable for travel, communication, education, commerce, recreation, acquiring new vehicles and influencing the public.

Sharp Nakshatras: Ardra, Ashlesha, Jyestha, Mula

The Nakshatras with a sharp quality are harsh and defensive. They are unfavorable for most deeds, but good for negative actions like countering enemies and protective actions like warding off evil spirits.

Fierce Nakshatras: Bharani, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Purva Shada, Purva Bhadrapada

The Nakshatras with a fierce quality are cruel and dreadful. They are the most unfavorable Nakshatras.  Yet, they too are good for negative actions like countering enemies when a wrathful approach is required.

Sharp & Soft Naskahtras: Krittika, Vishakha

The mixed quality of sharp & soft Nakshatras combines harshness with gentleness. They are favorable for ordinary activities and when there is a need to perform a negative action to gain power or overcome a difficulty. However, they are usually not favorable for new ventures or major undertakings.

Favorable & Unfavorable Nakshatras

The most favorable Nakshatras are: Pushya and Swati.

The very favorable Nakshatras are: Rohini and Punarvasu.

The very unfavorable Nakshatras are: Bharani, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Purva Shada, Purva Bhadrapada

The generally unfavorable Nakshatras are: Ardra, Ashlesha, Jyestha, Mula

The mixed Nakshatras are: Krittika and Vishaka.

The rest are generally favorable: Ashwini, Mrigashira, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Anuradha, Uttara Shada, Shravana, Dhanistha, Shatabishak, Uttara Bhadrapada, Revati

Nakshatra Panchaka – Aquarius & Pisces

This is a condition that occurs at the end of the zodiac. It includes the Nakshatras from the second half of Dhanistha through the end of Revati. While they are generally favorable Nakshatras, they are not favorable for establishing new actions, acquiring new object, repairs, renovations, or travel – especially to the south.

Tara Bala Table

Tara Bala means “star strength.”  Each of us has certain Nakshatras that are auspicious for us or not. This is determined by the Nakshatra of the Moon in our birth chart.  This is called your Janma Tara which means “birth star.” To fill out the table for yourself, simply put your Moon’s Nakshatra in the first box (upper left) then proceed down the first column filling in all of the Nakshatras in sequential order from your Janma Tara.  Then continue on by proceeding down the second and third columns. You should finish with the Nakshatra prior to your Moon’s Nakshatar in the bottom right.

Beginning with 0°00 Aries (sidereal zodiac!) the order of Nakshatras is as follows: Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrigashira, Ardra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni,, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishaka, Anuradha, Jyestha, Mula, Purva Ashada, Uttara Ashada, Shravana, Dhanistha, Shatabisha, Purva Bhadrapada, Uttara Bhadrapada, Revati.

Once you have filled out your Tara Bala (blank one below), you then narrow down the possible Nakshatras for a particular action based on your Moon!  Of the total possible nakshatras to choose for a particular action, you simply consider the ones that land in auspicious rows and omit the ones that land in inauspicious rows.  The Nakshatras that are auspicious for you land in rows 2, 4, 6, 8, 9 (wealth, prosperity, favorable, good & very good). Your inauspicious Nakshatras are 1, 3, 5, 7 (danger to body, accident, obstacles & danger).

Blank Tara Bala Table (begin to fill this in with YOUR Moon’s Nakshatra in the upper left Janma Tara row & then follow the order)

TARA EFFECT Nakshatra Nakshatra Nakshatra
1. Janma  (birth) Danger to body
2. Sampat (encounter) Wealth
3. Vipat (fall off) Accident
4. Kshema (prosperous) Prosperity
5. Pratyak (backwards) Obstacles
6. Sadhaka (achieve) Favorable
7. Naidhana (deadly) Danger
8. Mitra (friend) Good
9. Parama Mitra Very Good
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *