Rashis (Signs) At a Glance





These tables were designed by Julene as quick reference for study sheets. It is absolutely OK for you to copy and print the image of this table for your own study. It is NOT OK to use these table images for publication in any form (including written print, electronic/internet print websites, blogs, power points, etc) without permission from Julene. Use the contact form.

If you found the table helpful or if you wish it included something additional, please feel free to comment.

Parasara’s Descriptions of the Signs

Mesha (Aries): Mesha is blood-red in complexion. It has a prominent physique. It is a quadruped rashi and strong during night. It denotes courage. It resides in the east and is related to kings. It wanders in hills and predominates in Rajas-guna. It rises with its back  and is fiery. Its ruler is Mangal.

Vrishabha (Taurus): Vrishabha’s complexion is white, and is lorded by Shukra. It is long and is a quadruped rashi. It has strength in night and resides in the south. It represents villages and businessmen. An earthy rashi, Vrishabha rises with its back.

Mithuna (Gemini): The rashi Mithuna rises with its head and represents a male and a female holding a mace and lute. It lives in the west and is an, airy rashi. It is a biped rashi as well and is strong in nights. It lives in villages and is windy in temperament. It has an even body with a green (grass like) hue. Its ruler is Budha.

Karka (Cancer): The rashi Karka is pale-red. It resorts to forests and represents Brahmins. It is strong in nights. It has many feet (i.e. it is a centipede rashi) and has a bulky body. It is Sattvic in disposition and it is a watery rashi. It rises with its back and is ruled by Chandra.

Simha (Leo): Simha is ruled by Surya and is Sattvic. It is a quadruped rashi and a royal rashi. It resorts to forests and rises with its head. It has a large, white body. It resides in the east and is strong during daytime.

Kanya (Virgo): This rashi is a hill-resorter, and is strong in daytime. It rises with its head and has a medium build. It is a biped rashi and resides in the south. It has grains and fire in its hands. It belongs to the business community and is variegated. It relates to hurricanes.

Thula (Libra): Tula is a Shirshodaya rashi rising with its head; Tula is strong in daytime. It is black in complexion and is predominant with Rajas guna. It relates to the western direction and resorts to land. It is destructive or mischievous (‘Dhatin’). It represents Sudras or the 4th Varna. It has a medium build physique and is a biped rashi. Its lord is Shukra.

Vrishchika (Scorpio): Vrishchika has a slender physique and is a centipede rashi. It denotes Brahmins and resides in holes. Its direction is north and is strong in daytime. It is reddish-brown and resorts to water and land. It has a hairy physique and is very sharp (or passionate). Mangal is its ruler.

Dhanus (Sagittarius): The rashi Dhanu rises with its head and is lorded by Guru. It is a Sattvic rashi and is tawny in hue. It has strength in night and is fiery. A royal rashi, Dhanu is biped in first half. Its second half is quadruped. It has an even build and adores an arch. It resides in the east, resorts to land and is splendorous.

Makara (Capricorn): Makara is lorded by Shani and has predominance of Tamoguna (a disposition seen in demons). It is an earthy rashi and represents the southern direction. It is strong in nights, and rises with back. It has a large body. Its complexion is variegated and it resorts to both forests and lands. Its first half is quadruped and its second half footless moving in water.

Kumbha (Aquarius): The rashi Kumbha represents a man holding a pot. Its complexion is deep-brown. It has medium build and a biped rashi. It is very strong in daytime. It resorts to deep water and is airy. It rises with its head and is Tamasic. It rules Sudras, the 4th Varna, and the west. Its lord is Shani, Surya’s offspring.

Meena (Pisces): Meena resembles a pair of fish, one tailed with the head of the other. This rashi is strong at night. It is a watery rashi and is predominant with Sattwa-guna. It denotes resoluteness and relates to water. It is footless and has a medium build. It rules the north and rises with both head and back. It is ruled by Guru.



3 Responses to Rashis (Signs) At a Glance

  1. Shankar Athreya says:

    Parashara says colour for Pisces is sky blue

  2. Shankar Athreya says:

    I found your table very interesting. Can you please write something about Rashi dosha?

  3. Nitin Pujari says:

    Very good collection and very nicely displayed..very useful for research..thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *